Valentine's Day 2007
10:16 p.m. || February 14, 2007

I keep reading about people getting this horrible flu that's going around and I am terribly afraid that I'm going to get it. So afraid that I'm convincing myself that I'm already nauseous. The fact is, I know that it causes people to throw up and not be able to hold anything down. And I hate throwing up. It scares me. I'm scared of getting dehydrated and having to go to the hospital. I don't want that at all.

I made a craptastic banner yesterday. I actually made it because I just learned how to make the shadow effect using only the standard stuff in photoshop...and I want to use up my banner views. I think it's a pretty banner, but man the subject of it is stupid. Oh well. I guess that's what I get for being so dorky.

Oh yeah... Happy Valentine's Day!

We didn't exactly spend the day the way I would've liked, but hey... we're home and healthy, so what more could I ask for?

It did nothing but "rain" ice last night. I stood out in the yard this evening and jumped on the surface and it didn't even crack. 300 pound DH stood on it and stomped on it and it didn't break. That is some thick ice.

DH went to his doctor appointment this morning despite my protests. I told him that it was stupid and that he could reschedule...and that rescheduling would be okay because most people would probably be doing the same today.

Do you know what his response was?

"It costs more money to reschedule."

Whatever, man. He had no problem spending almost $2000 on paintball equipment, but he can't spend the $30 or whatever it costs to cancel an appointment less than 24 hours before the appointment time.

Hrumph.

Anyway...

On the way to the doctor, we slid off the road because of the slush. The highways were horrible. Our street hadn't even been plowed yet. It was scary like the dickens and I made him drive all day.

After his appointment we went to work, where I received my Valentine's Day gift.

I have to make a confession before I tell you what it is, though. Ever since we got married, with the exception of the hamsters he bought for me 2 Valentine's Days ago, he's always bought my gifts from 1-800-Flowers. Don't get me wrong. The flowers are beautiful and the gifts are pretty nice. But I was so convinced that he was going to have bought everything that they offer in the near future because he never gives me anything else. He has never put any thought into the gifts he gives me, if he even gives me a gift.

This time, he bought me a Vermont Teddy Bear.

I had never heard of a Vermont Teddy Bear. It's pretty cute. It came in a foot-tall red satin heart shaped box, with 3 kinds of chocolate and the Vermont Bear.

I actually got the most joy out of reading the information on the box in which the bear was delivered. It reminded me of the clever things that can be read on the cups or bags that you get at Burger King.

After work, we came straight home. I had been avoiding giving DH his gift all day until he asked me for it. I didn't wrap it, so I just handed it to him wrapped inside a plastic bag.

He says he likes it. I guess I'll know how he really feels when I see what he actually does with it!

I suppose that's all that's going on. We got our Rav4 stuck in the ice on our driveway this evening, so tomorrow will be spent trying to find a snowblower to dig ourselves out.

Oh what fun! :o)

We have a satellite conference next week. It begins on President's Day, which is actually a holiday for my work. Unfortunately, we will have to be in Washington D.C. setting up our booth. So our holiday is being moved to the Friday after, giving us a long weekend. I'm very happy about that.

Happy Valentine's Day, everyone.

--last || next--


LAST FIVE
New Location - October 18, 2007
Be Still, My Soul - September 17, 2007
Just leave already - September 16, 2007
Changes...I hate them (well, most of them, anyway) - September 14, 2007
Funky Love - September 12, 2007



*HUGS* TOTAL! give tootiturtle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own