Changes...I hate them (well, most of them, anyway)
12:42 a.m. || September 14, 2007

What. a. day.

What a day!

I'm telling you, it's never a dull moment around here.

My FIL called us this morning to tell us that one of my BILs was diagnosed with strep. FIL (for the last day) and DH (for the last 3 or 4 days) have been feeling like crap so I told DH that he should go to the doctor to get tested for strep. It would be stupid of him to get on that plane tomorrow if he's contagious!

So he calls the doctor, who can't fit him in until 7:15 p.m. That's pretty late...and from what I remember, you have to be on an antibiotic for at least 24 hours before you're not contagious anymore (if it's strep).

DH has the bright idea to go to the hospital so he can get treated right away...risking a hefty bill if our insurance decides not to cover it.

To the hospital we go!

The ER doc examined him. He didn't have swollen lymph nodes in his neck and his throat really wasn't that sore. He was about to do a throat culture until he discovered that DH had his tonsils removed quite some time ago.

If I remember correctly, someone once told me that if you don't have tonsils you can't get strep? I looked it up, though, and one website I looked at said you still could. I don't know.

Anyway, the doc did chest x-rays because DH has been coughing up some phlegm. No pneumonia or bronchitis. The doc thinks it's the flu and a sinus infection or something. So DH is taking vicodin (hrmph) for his aches and a decognestant for his sinuses.

He is not going to Bangkok tomorrow. Yaaaaaaay!

I thought it was really sweet because he was saying he wanted to go, but he didn't want to go without me because he knew he would enjoy the trip more if I were there. So he's actually happy that he's not going.

*heart swells*

The thing is...FIL is pretty sure he has strep. His doctor didn't even see him and he called in an antibiotic to the pharmacy for he and MIL to take.

FIL is my boss, so I see him at work...
Marie at work has been feeling like crap for the last couple days, I just found out...
Ron at work has had what he called "hayfever" all week long and it's the worse hayfever I've ever heard of...
I work and live with DH and he's sick...

I'm pretty much doomed to get sick. I've been around these people all week and none of them have been to the doctor!!!! I'm hoping that because I've been eating better and because I've been faithfully taking my vitamins, my immune system is better and I can avoid getting sick.

I just know that I have to see the doc if I start feeling bad. Apparently fevers can be pretty hazardous to the baby during pregnancy.

On top of all this, Athea announced that she'll be coming tomorrow night instead of Saturday morning.

Arrrrrrrgh...

I'm hoping this means that she's not still staying over until Sunday morning. I might go crazy. When I talked to her this evening, she talked my ear off and I couldn't get a word in edgewise. She's making me allow her to treat me to breakfast, which is nice. I'm not sure what else we'll do. If we go to the mall, I need to go to VS and buy yet another bra (this'll be my 4th "upgrade").

All of these last-minute changes are stressing me out... At least I don't have to see DH off in the morning. :)

I suppose that's all I have to say. I'll be hitting the sack here in a few minutes.

Have a nice night.

--last || next--


LAST FIVE
New Location - October 18, 2007
Be Still, My Soul - September 17, 2007
Just leave already - September 16, 2007
Changes...I hate them (well, most of them, anyway) - September 14, 2007
Funky Love - September 12, 2007



*HUGS* TOTAL! give tootiturtle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own