Cedar Point 2006 trip
4:06 p.m. || October 11, 2006

I've gotten two responses to my Christmas card offer. One of them would've gotten a card anyway... C'mon people. You know you want a card from little ol' me! :) I'm not going to just assume that the people who asked for a postcard earlier this year also want a greeting card. That would be like real-life mailbox spam!

As I said yesterday, I've been working like mad at work. I haven't had any goof-off time to take a break or write any entries until today. The frustrating part of it all is that only one person has noticed how much work I've really been doing. There's one new employee who keeps getting on me about his insurance cards. I've told him 3 or 4 times that our dental insurance company doesn't send us insurance cards. I'm trying to get AFLAC set up for these 2 new employees who go on travel on Sunday, but our rep has yet to return any of my e-mails or phone calls. So I've pretty much done all I can do, yet one particular new employee reports everything to the big boss, who then asks me if I've been doing anything. It makes me so incredibly mad!!! Argh! This happens every single day. I hate being the go-to person and I hate being taken for granted.

The live-ins moved out while we were at Cedar Point. Yay! They did a decent job of cleaning up the basement. They actually did a better job than I expected them to do. We weren't even home for 20 minutes before they showed up at our door. That's not a good sign. They came to return their keys. I'm not convinced that they didn't make copies, so we're changing our locks tonight.

Cedar Point! I like Cedar Point. It's a great place. I just wish we didn't go during Halloweekends.

DH and I went with Mommy T, my two brother-in-laws, and an extra friend of one of the brothers. It's approximately 5 hours from the in-laws' house to Cedar Point. It was an interesting ride. I must say that I've had enough of those kids for the rest of the year.

We stayed at Hotel Breakers, which is the resort in the amusement park. Our first morning started with the little dudes banging on our door while we were still sleeping. After we got dressed, we went into the park 30 minutes before it opened (resort residents could go in up to an hour before anyone else). There's not too much exciting to say about the day time. We rode rollercoasters and other rides and ate a Johnny Rockets.

Nighttime is when things got interesting. While it was getting dark, I could see the fog starting roll out into the middle of the park. All of the frightening events started at 8 p.m.

Our first stop was Undertaker U., which was a haunted mortuary. My brother-in-laws and mother-in-law said that the haunted house wasn't worth the wait, so I didn't think it would be that bad. The friend that came along chickened out on everything when it came to the scary stuff.

I get scared at work when someone pops around the corner when I'm walking by.

This haunted house scared the wits out of me. It was so dark in there... People were dressed in black with painted faces or masks on and they would pop out wherever you least expected it. When you did expect it, no one was there. Look at the scary dudes that show up in the picture on this page. I screamed and jumped and grabbed onto DH's arm... Everyone told me that I was the most fun to have around when they went through.

DH said that I need to remember that the monsters are fake and that they're not allowed to touch you. I have no problem remembering that. What gets me is that I have no idea when they're going to pop out. When they do pop out, they don't back down. They'll follow you around, getting right up in your face. You see nothing human, you just see this awful looking mask. It was terrifying.

Next up was Fright Zone. My brother-in-laws told me that there was a giant skull at the entrance that you could talk to. There was a giant skull at the entrance. You could see him from a mile away with his bright red glowing eyes piercing through the fog, but he wasn't saying anything. So we walked into the Fright Zone and just as I got underneath the skull, this booming voice said, "Ha Ha Ha I got you this time!" I nearly pooped my pants. It scared me to death. Everyone swears they heard the freaking thing say "I got you in the pink". I was wearing a pink sweatshirt. But I didn't hear him say that. That was the only thing I heard him saying during our entire stay in the park. The Fright Zone was worse than the mortuary because the monsters were free-roaming. Fortunately, nothing scared me except for the gigantic skull. The scariest thing was that the fog was so thick that I couldn't even see my hand in front of my face. I had no idea who was in front of me and I didn't know if anyone was following behind me.

We went straight to Fear Faire, which wasn't as foggy. One monster actually chased me around in circles. Of course I was screaming the entire time. I know that when they get a reaction out of me, they'll do it more, but I can't help it!

I'd had enough of scary things, so we passed straight through CarnEvil and back to the hotel.

I had no voice when I woke up the next morning. Actually, I had enough to scream on the rides we went on and the scream even more when we visited more scary parts of the park.

I got to ride Millenium Force for the first time. I almost blacked out on the first drop. That's the first time that's ever happened to me. It was quite scary. The rest of the ride was fun, though. It went so fast that my eyebrows and eyelashes were being pushed up and once I opened my mouth, it wouldn't close again. I didn't ride anything else that intense for fear of completely fainting.

That night we visited Pharaoh's Secret, which I wound up running out of because two of the monsters were chasing me, Lair of the Vampire, and Werewolf Canyon. All of which were just as scary as the rest.

We went back into CarnEvil to get a closer look since I rushed us out ealier. A guy with a chainsaw came up and scared me a bit, which wasn't bad until he came back and actually started chasing me while revving his chainsaw. I ran out of the fog and into a part near the exit.

DH started freaking out because he couldn't find me. When I finally came back to him, he was angry with me because he thought I was being raped or something.

That on top of being chased by a chainsaw-carrying monster made me cry. It turns out that one of my brother-in-laws told the guy to scare me some more.

I've had nightmares since that night. I won't be watching scary movies for a while.

I know I'm a wimp, but some people do have a fear of those things and I think it was cruel that he had someone chase me.

I guess that's it. I'm tired of writing now. I think we're going to flea bomb the basement when we get home tonight. I can't wait until I can put the kitties back down in the basement. They're knocking everything over when they're not being watched upstairs.

Hehehe...


--last || next--


LAST FIVE
New Location - October 18, 2007
Be Still, My Soul - September 17, 2007
Just leave already - September 16, 2007
Changes...I hate them (well, most of them, anyway) - September 14, 2007
Funky Love - September 12, 2007



*HUGS* TOTAL! give tootiturtle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own