Toe bulb
12:52 p.m. || November 07, 2006

Last night when we got home from work I decided that I would tackle the hall bathroom. I started out with the bathroom door open. The chemicals from the cleaners are overbearing sometimes, so I wanted as much air circulation as possible. I wasn't even in there for a minute before Augustus ran in and took a flying leap into the bathtub.

I don't know what it is with that cat. He'd rather hang out in the tub than anywhere else. He'll roll around in there, purring, looking at me like he wants me to join. If there's water droplets in the bottom, he'll drink them. It's really weird. I wonder if it has to do with how it smells. He does the same thing with certain pairs of my shoes, DH's boxers, and bags.

Anyway, Caesar wasn't leaving me alone either, so I had to turn on the fan and brave the fumes with the door closed.

The bathtub was in pretty bad shape, but the rest of the bathroom, other than having some dust, wasn't bad at all. I don't mind cleaning the floor or the sinks or even a disgusting toilet, but I'll put off cleaning a bathtub or shower simply because there's no easy way to do it. You can either sit on your knees and lean as far into the tub as you can (which made my sore toe even more sore), or you can stand in the tub and use your feet to scrub the low spots (which wouldn't work because of my toe).

I started out with the scrubbing bubbles cleaner because it usually works to get the top layer of soap scum. I pulled out the Comet for the extra tough stuff. There was one spot that I scrubbed and scrubbed and scrubbed and it just wouldn't disappear. It was the only spot that was still there, so I gave up. I rinsed the cleaners down the drain, put fresh towels in there, and left.

I went back in later to soak my foot and the spot was gone!

I had been scrubbing a shadow. No wonder it wouldn't go away. *duh*

DH said it was nice to have a bathtub that looks like new again. He's lucky we even have a bathtub anymore. If I'd spent any more time scrubbing at the spot that wasn't there, the tub probably would've had a huge hole it in! Actually, that's not true, but I really did work hard to try and get it clean.

This morning I had an appointment with my podiatrist. He's a really nice older man. I wanted to see specifically him because he'd fixed my other toe. He took a look at my toe and told me why it was looking so bad (I already knew why). Then he got out some tools and snipped of the hook of my toenail that was caught on the skin...without numbing my toe. I was holding my breath and covering my mouth so I wouldn't yelp. He told me that I'd feel a difference immediately and then wrapped my toe in gauze and some kind of purple non-sticky tape and he told me that I don't have to take my antibiotic anymore.

I can't say my toe feels any better.

If it's not healed in a week, I'm supposed to see him again to have it fixed permanently. I kinda hope it's not healed so I can just get it over with. If he doesn't do it, I'll just keep having this problem over and over.

Ahh...here we go.

I'll leave you with my nice bulbous purple toe wrap. It's not an ugly picture, but it is an interesting looking toe.

--last || next--


LAST FIVE
New Location - October 18, 2007
Be Still, My Soul - September 17, 2007
Just leave already - September 16, 2007
Changes...I hate them (well, most of them, anyway) - September 14, 2007
Funky Love - September 12, 2007



*HUGS* TOTAL! give tootiturtle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own