What is this thing called love?
4:59 p.m. || November 08, 2006

What is love? I mean it. Really. What is it?

Is it a feeling expressed as an action? Is it a choice? Is it just an expression? Just a word?

Why are there so many ways to "love" people?

Loving my mother is different than loving my brother, which is different than loving my husband, which different from loving dark chocolate, which is different from "loving" someone on whom I may have a crush, which is different than showing love by helping someone carry her groceries...

Why can two complete strangers who decide to have sex with one another be called "lovers"? Is sex the ultimate expression of love? If so, why do people have it who don't love one another?

If I can stop loving my favorite movie just because a newer movie just came out that I absolutely "loved", is it that easy to do the same to a person?

Is it really possible to force yourself to stop loving someone just because there's someone new in your life? Or can you never stop loving someone, even if you wanted to?

Can love be replaced?

Can one's self-worth be directly related to the feeling of being loved? If I love a man and I don't feel that he's feeling the same way, knowing that I'm loved by my parents just isn't enough. Those are two different types of love and I just can't tell the difference between the two.

I'd give my life for any of them. I want to spend a lot of time with all of them. I want them to be in the best of health. I only have a sexual relationship with one. Is that was defines the love in a marriage? Sex? What if in one person's mind they are having sex with someone other than his/her spouse? Is that person in love with the person on his/her mind?

I want to know the true meaning and true feeling of this so-called LOVE.

Is love that feeling you get after you've just realized that someone sacrificed something for you and they did it without anything in return? No returned favors, no words of thanks, no smile. It isn't until the person is out of sight that maybe you realize that in that given moment, that person cared enough to give you a part of themselves, whether it be their time, or money, or maybe even decided because you look like you've had a bad day to be extra polite even though they just had a bad day, too. Is that love? Is that what Christ's love is?

Love is an abused term. These days, everyone "loves" everything.

I don't even know what it is anymore.

I think I still have yet to experience REAL love...

...and I think I'll know it when I do.

--last || next--


LAST FIVE
New Location - October 18, 2007
Be Still, My Soul - September 17, 2007
Just leave already - September 16, 2007
Changes...I hate them (well, most of them, anyway) - September 14, 2007
Funky Love - September 12, 2007



*HUGS* TOTAL! give tootiturtle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own