The Last Kiss
4:14 p.m. || September 26, 2006

What. a. day.

(I just changed the images in the template...does it look okay?)

I just got into work. I explained to one of my co-workers that my body schedule is a bit screwed up from having to spend half of a night in the hospital every week or two. I know it's no excuse, but it's true. I have trouble sleeping anyway, so I'd almost rather stay awake for a full 24 hours than to try to go to bed on time, lie awake in bed until the wee hours of the morning, and then get up 2 hours after I finally doze off. The latter always make me feel sick.

So basically, I was saying that I slept in really late this morning, only to find a message on the answering machine saying that I need to pick up my youngest brother-in-law from school because he's sick. I rushed to shower and get dressed and then I called my mother-in-law to see if anyone had picked him up yet. Surprisingly, one of the live-ins picked him up.

1 brownie point for them.

DH is sick today (I know he's sick everyday, but this time he's nauseous with a bad headache), so I had to convince him to let me leave. Then I went to the bank and then to the post office and now I'm here. It's a shame that I will probably have spent more time driving today than I did working.

I loathe my commute. I really do.

THE MOVIE!!! I want to talk about this movie I saw. There are probably spoilers, so don't read if you haven't seen it or if you're a spoil sport about spoilers.

DH took me to see a movie on Saturday. It's called The Last Kiss.

Has anyone else seen that movie?

We went into the movie thinking that it was a romantic comedy about a guy who was getting married and met another girl and he had to choose between the two. I mean, that's what the movie trailer made me think when I watched it.

I generally try to avoid movies that are about infidelity because they make me paranoid, but that seems to be all movies are about nowadays.

Anyway, the movie was nothing like what I expected. It was practically my worst nightmare.

Zach Braff's character really made me angry. Rachel Bilson's character made me even more angry. I upset first by the fact that he had a beautiful girlfriend, who he had just said was perfect, and he's going after this young immature college girl. What upset me even more was the fact that this college girl was pursuing this man who said that he had a girlfriend, and he told the college girl that the girlfriend was some kind of crisis. The college girl...Kim. Kim took "crisis" to mean, "I want to leave my girlfriend for you." So she pursued him more. The guy...Michael. Michael got himself wrapped up in a lie and got caught, but all he did was kiss the girl.

His girlfriend kicked him out and he went and slept with the other girl.

What. a. jerk.

If he really cared about his girlfriend, he shouldn't have done that.

While this is going on, the girlfriend's mom left her husband because she was bored...

Michael's friend left his wife because she was nagging him about the fact that she was the only one taking care of their child...

Michael's other friend's father died and he was spazzing over his girlfriend leaving him...

And Michael's third friend was having fabulous sex with a brunette and freaked when the girl wanted him to meet her parents.

This was one intense movie.

I went to the IMDB message boards to see what other people thought about this movie.

They were also mislead by the movie. Most people actually felt sorry for Kim when she got hurt in the end. They gave the excuse that she was only 19 and didn't know any better.

I'm sorry, but she was just as guilty, if not more guilty, than Michael. She knew exactly what she was doing. She was the one who assumed wrong what Michael meant when he said he had a crisis.

Ugh. This probably makes no sense, but this really bothers me!

Has anyone else seen this movie? What did you think of it? Were you as disturbed as I was.

It was a good movie in the sense that the acting was pretty decent and it kept my attention and I had feelings for the characters the entire duration of the movie. But man, the storyline sucked.

It's not a date movie, that's for sure. If anything, you might wind up going home single if you watch it on a date. Maybe it's a good break-up movie. The ending was bittersweet.

I really hated the movie. It's like, Hollywood is trying to justify cheating by having these characters accept one another for these wrongful acts. You can't leave your wife just because she nags. Talk it out first and maybe she'll nag less. I got the impression that the wife needed break from taking care of the baby.

The mom and dad of the girlfriend got back together, you find out in the movie that the mom has left him more than once. I understand what it's like to love someone that much, but leaving and changing your mind like that is so childish. I know that I would put up with it for the first and maybe second time (depending on why the person left), but after that, there's no use.

And you don't go saying that your mate is perfect and then succumb to the little succubus that bats her little eyelashes at you! I know at the movie he said that it made him realize how much he loved her, but man the way he decided to show it was fucked up.

Argh. I really hate that movie.

Input, anyone? Maybe you learned something from it that I didn't.

--last || next--


LAST FIVE
New Location - October 18, 2007
Be Still, My Soul - September 17, 2007
Just leave already - September 16, 2007
Changes...I hate them (well, most of them, anyway) - September 14, 2007
Funky Love - September 12, 2007



*HUGS* TOTAL! give tootiturtle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own