Good things come to those who wait?
9:30 p.m. || August 23, 2006

I am so so so so SOOOO frustrated right now. :(

Today was the day of DH's double balloon endoscopy down in Baltimore. We were all planning on having an answer to his health problems in two weeks. Everyone was praying for him and that there would be no complications (because of the medication he's on, they knew it would be tough to sedate him and he could have potentially fatal respiratory problems).

So I set the alarm for 8:30 a.m. last night. We had trouble getting to sleep and as it was, we were going to get 6 and a half hours of sleep. At 6:30 this morning, I woke up to the sound of our door bell ringing and someone pounding on our front door. It scared the wits out of me. Some pavers were ready to pave our road (finally...after being here for 2 years already) and the Live-In husband had parked his car on the road. We knew that they'd be paving our street soon and we'd asked him to park in our driveway, but noooo...He decided he wanted to park on the street. So we had to wake him up. He was mad, of course. I don't feel bad, though. He should've parked on the driveway.

Daddy T picked us up around 9:30 and drove us to the medical center. We waited in the waiting room for a long time and as expected, I wasn't allowed to go back with DH when the nurse called him in. My dad happened to be in the area at the time so he stopped by to see me. It was a nice distraction. A nurse called me back to the room where the procedure would occur when the doctor was coming in.

He told us the risks of the procedure and he looked at the results of the capsule endoscopy.

As it turns out, he wasn't able to be sedated at all. The doctor thinks it was because he was so anxious and because he has a tolerance for the medication. The doctor put him on prednisone to treat Crohn's disease even though he hasn't yet been diagnosed. If it's not Crohn's disease, the medication shouldn't make any difference. If it is Crohn's disease, he should feel a difference in 3-4 days. Regardless of the results after using the medication, he's going to try to see DH in two weeks to have a colonoscopy to try to get the biopsy of the ulcers under general anesthetic.

More waiting. I've had it with waiting. I know good things come to those who wait, but we've been waiting for 3 years.

I hope and pray that this prednisone works...

--last || next--


LAST FIVE
New Location - October 18, 2007
Be Still, My Soul - September 17, 2007
Just leave already - September 16, 2007
Changes...I hate them (well, most of them, anyway) - September 14, 2007
Funky Love - September 12, 2007



*HUGS* TOTAL! give tootiturtle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own