Disappointed
12:30 p.m. || June 29, 2007

Yesterday was kind of a bummer.

Although, all but one person in my family called and sang happy birthday to me. My mom left a hilarious compilation of birthday songs in my voicemail, so I saved it. :D My oldest brother sent me a package that had a basket of aromatherapy things in it from Bath & Body Works. It's supposed to help you sleep. I tried it last night and it smells good, but I don't know if it really helped or not. My in-laws bought be one of those digital picture frames. It's really nice, but for the life of me, I can't figure out how to use it. I'd like to keep it in my new office.

DH didn't do a single thing for me. No dinner or anything. I was so disappointed. I hate feeling this way because it makes me feel so selfish and materialistic. Even if he'd made a card for me, I would have been happy. I thought for sure he was planning something because last week he reminded ME that my birthday was coming up. I thought this year would be different because he's actually healthy and well. The last 3 birthdays, we haven't been able to do anything together (not even on his birthday). There was no difference, though.

He really doesn't make me feel special. I understand that he doesn't like holidays because it's just something that's made up so that stores will make more money, but gosh, he doesn't do anything any other day, either. No surprises...no picking me up something he sees just because I might like it...

It makes me not want to do any of those things for him. My mom says that I should do it anyway. My brother thinks that he's just cheap.

He's not cheap. He keeps buying stuff for himself, but he never thinks of me. I've been wanting to buy that digital recorder for over a year now, but I never do because he keeps spending our money.

I want to be able to do things for myself without feeling guilty. I want him to want to do things for me because it makes me feel good.

I think it's just a lost cause. He said he'll take me out to eat on Sunday...I guess we'll go to the Japanese place I was talking about before.

Tomorrow I'm supposed to be spending the day with mom, doing whatever I want in honor of my birthday. I honestly don't know what to do! The weekend is my time to get a lot of stuff done at home, but I don't want to put my mom to work around the house. I need to go out and buy a bunch of mulch (before I get too big to actually lay it down), but it's too heavy for me to be lifting it. So I thought maybe she'd go with me to get some. But that's not much fun.

Last year we went to the Gettysburg Village Outlets and went shopping. I don't really have any money to spend right now, so I'm not too fond of that idea. But she said that she wants to buy me a gift...I don't know what she's thinking of, but that's what she said.

She also said that later in the evening, after my dad gets off of work, he'll drive up here and we would all go out for dinner. Honestly, I don't want DH to come along. I guess it's because I'm a little upset with him. I might change my mind later. I'll tell him tomorrow before we leave and he can decide if he wants to go or not. I'm not sure where we'll end up eating. I feel kind of bad because my dad works down near D.C. and has such a long commute to get to his house...then to drive an extra hour to get to my house? That doesn't sound like fun at all and I'm sure he'll be exhausted.

Depending on where my mother and I decide to go, I may show her the new location for our work. She saw the outside of the old building, but since we don't have to deal with guards and security badges anymore, I can just take her right in and give her a little tour. Plus, no one else will be here (that I know of), so she probably doesn't have to worry about running into my noisy father-in-law.

I guess I should get back to filing. We don't have internet or phone/fax lines yet, so I don't have anything left to do in my office but file. Blah. My father-in-law gave me a box of all this unopened mail that's at least 2 years old. There's nothing important in there...at least not anything that hasn't already expired. I wish I could just dump it all, but he wants it all files away. I have 4 more boxes of stuff that I packed and need to file, but all I have to do is stick it in the folders.

Back to work I go... (and this'll be posted as soon as I get home!)

--last || next--


LAST FIVE
New Location - October 18, 2007
Be Still, My Soul - September 17, 2007
Just leave already - September 16, 2007
Changes...I hate them (well, most of them, anyway) - September 14, 2007
Funky Love - September 12, 2007



*HUGS* TOTAL! give tootiturtle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own