10 days until I have my life back.
12:26 a.m. || September 18, 2006

Well, I did it. I cut my hair. It's not as short as the hair style that I liked, but it's not as long as the one DH liked. And without dying my hair, it looks like I did because the ultra-blonde dead ends were completely chopped off. I think it makes my hair look thicker and it makes my shower time a lot shorter. The girl who cut my hair didn't want to cut it any shorter because she had already cut a lot.

It took me a while to get ready this morning because I haven't quite gotten the hang of styling it yet, but I'm sure it won't take long.

I'll post before and after pictures when I can find something decent to post. It seems a little weird to post pictures of myself when I'm trying to keep an anonymous diary, but oh well. I think I'd more like to keep it anonymous so people don't assume that they know me as well as they'd like to think they do when they read my diary.

I think some people who read this don't even realize that they read my previous diary. :) If they paid attention to my last diary, they should recognize me in the pictures.

Someone mentioned that in my template, the girl looks like an idiot, but I don't write like an idiot, so it doesn't quite fit together.

First of all, thank you for saying that I don't write like an idiot. The first time I ever tried to write an entry, I tried to make myself sound incredibly smart, but when I read my own entry, I felt so fake. So this is what you and I get. I try to write the way I talk. I think it helps set the mood of the entry...or even of a single paragraph.

Second of all, I can't find any decent ice cream themed layouts. If anyone knows of any, please fill me in. I like this layout because it's pink and because it does have the ice cream theme (it fits with the story of how I picked the name, if you haven't read it already).

When I left off very early on Thursday morning, I said that DH was going to have his double balloon colonoscopy (enteroscopy???) under general anesthetic.

The night before, I took him to the hospital because we found blood in his stool. The ER doctor that it was very important that he had the procedure done, so he let him go home.

My mom drove us to the Medical Center in Baltimore. Of all the people who could've come with us, I couldn't be more thankful that she was the one who did.

She sat with me in the waiting room and talked the administrative assistant into letting me back into the surgical area to see DH before he went through his procedure.

It seemed like days before the doctor came out and talked to us about how it went. I'll call him Doctor G. Doctor G is a young doctor. I guess he's young. He looks young. DH thought he was a bit cocky, but I didn't get that impression.

The first thing Doctor G told us was that the procedure went well. The second thing he told us was that everything looked normal.

Everytime I tell someone that part, they're like, "Oh good!!!"

But I didn't want to hear that everything was normal. The purpose of the procedure was to take biopsies of the ulcers that were in his small intestine to determine what is causing them. From what I could tell from what he said, it sounded like he pretty much took biopsies of nothing. He said that there was a nodule at the end of the small intestine, but it was nothing to worry about and he biopsied it anyway.

Then he told me that DH told him that the prednisone was working. He didn't seem to remember that he was the doctor that prescribed the prednisone to him and the last time I asked DH about it, the prednisone didn't make him feel better.

When I brought up possibly upping the dosage, Doctor G immediately ruled that out.

He thinks that the prednisone healed the ulcers.

The last time I talked to him, he said that the prednisone would work if what DH has is in fact Crohn's Disease. He said that if it wasn't Crohn's disease, it wouldn't work.

This time, he didn't seem to think it was Crohn's disease. I don't remember what he said to make me think that, but that's how I felt after he left.

He also said that he thought it would be wise for DH to have the capsule endoscopy again and that the bleeding from the night before was from hemorrhoids.

Okay. He didn't even check to see if it was hemorrhoids or not while he was in there. He only assumed that because there was no bleeding during the procedure. When he was in the hospital the night before, the doctor did the rectal exam and determined that it was not hemorrhoids. He told me that he thinks DH's pain is from IBS (irritable bowel syndrome) on top of an IBD (inflammatory bowel disease). Whew...at least he still thinks it's an IBD. The doesn't rule Crohn's out.

After that, he said that we'd meet with DH in the surgical area for the full consult.

I had a million questions to ask him.

If it's not Crohn's disease like you seemed to say, why do you think that the prednisone worked, when you said it wouldn't work if it wasn't Crohn's?

Could it be ibuprofen induced colitis? What's the treatment?

If it's Crohn's, what's the next step?

Doctor G never came back out to get us. About an hour after he stopped talking to us, DH comes waltzing out of the door. My questions are left unanswered.

When we got home, DH had more blood in his stool. He called the Medical Center and asked what he should do, but all the on-call doctor said was that he should go to the hospital if he starts feeling faint or if the blood starts gushing out of him.

When we got up the next morning, we woke up to a message from the same on-call doctor saying that she hoped he made it through the night.

He bled on Friday, but nothing more than before. It worries me because it didn't look like old blood, but it didn't look like brand new blood either. Brand new blood is bright red, old blood is brown. This was a medium red color and it was mixed in with the stool. If it was hemorrhoids, wouldn't it have only been on the outside.

I guess that's a little disgusting, but I have no idea what's causing it and it's truly frightening.

We're supposed to get the results sometime today (I can't believe it's Monday already). We'll see if he calls us or if we'll have to call the GI doctor in Hagerstown.

I guess that's all that's going on with me. I can't wait until he's better.

Oh! The live-ins have a settlement date: September 28th. I cannot wait. They know that I'm excited that they'll be gone.

DH is excited, too.

The wife is excited, but the husband seems much less excited, if he's excited at all.

Their house is smaller than ours, but it cost as much as ours did. Their house was cheaply built and their interest rate is higher.

Their mortgage is about $300 higher than ours. They make less than we do. They want at least 4 children.

I foresee a foreclosure for them in a couple of years. I will not allow them to move back in if they are in trouble.

I know I sound like a bitch, but I want my private life back. I want to be able to walk downstairs in just my underwear to get a drink of water. I want to be able to do laundry without having to finish their laundry first. I want to be able to have an intimate moment with DH without worrying that they can hear us through the air ducts. I want to be able to go on a business trip for a day without having to worry that they've been in our bedroom and bathroom.

It's so bad that DH is changing the locks on our house after they move out.

I suppose that's all. I need to go to bed.

*yawns*

--last || next--


LAST FIVE
New Location - October 18, 2007
Be Still, My Soul - September 17, 2007
Just leave already - September 16, 2007
Changes...I hate them (well, most of them, anyway) - September 14, 2007
Funky Love - September 12, 2007



*HUGS* TOTAL! give tootiturtle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own