Go Boom
3:36 a.m. || February 06, 2007

I don't know if any of you saw the video of the Se@ L@unch explosion that happened on 1/30/2007. If not, you can watch it here.

I was actually a little offended that people thought that it was fake or took it as some kind of joke.

That explosion destroyed years of hard work on the satellite and it destroyed the launch platform of a very reputable company.

Because of that explosion, the company I work for loses some of its business, or at this rate the schedule will be very delayed. I don't think we would've tested that satellite, but there was definitely at least 1 scheduled launch for this year that will definitely not be happening anytime soon.

This is all a part of my world at work. It's always a risk in our line of business, and I don't think the rest of the people at work feel it as much as I do (and I can't even begin imagine what the people at Se@ L@unch or the builders of that satellite are saying right now...probably "oh sh*t". Heh).

I've also seen the launch platform with my own eyes. At the satellite show in Long Beach, CA a couple years ago, we were invited on a private cruise that sailed out and around the platform and someone gave a speech about it. It might sound silly, but it was pretty cool for me.

Anyway, this is a dumb little entry that I decided to write since I can't sleep. Go back an entry for a much better slightly more interesting one.

***EDIT***
I just saw pictures of the platform and it looks like it survived. Good for them!!!

--last || next--


LAST FIVE
New Location - October 18, 2007
Be Still, My Soul - September 17, 2007
Just leave already - September 16, 2007
Changes...I hate them (well, most of them, anyway) - September 14, 2007
Funky Love - September 12, 2007



*HUGS* TOTAL! give tootiturtle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own